Ferrari F1 Merchandise Sale Buy

Today in Racing: 8 June

There were just three grand prix on another quaintly quiet day in race history on 8 June.

Niki Lauda drove his Ferrari 312T to victory in the 1975 Swedish Grand Prix over Carlos Reutemann’s Brabham BT44B Cosworth, as Ferrari teammate Clay Regazzoni finished third.

Robert Kubica took BMW’s only F1 win since 2004 as he powered his Williams to 2008 Canadian victory over teammate Nick Heidfeld and David Coulthard’s Red Bull as he moved in to the championship lead. That after race leader Lewis Hamilton’s McLaren collided with Kimi Räikkönen’s Ferrari in pit lane.

Still in Canada, Daniel Ricciardo’s Red Bull Renault won the 2014 race from Nico Rosberg’s Mercedes and Sebastian Vettel in the other Red Bull.

In other major races on 8 June, HC Tryon and Frank Newton’s Napiers and US star Dario Resta’s Mercedes each won a 1907 Brooklands Bank Holiday race and Paul Bablot won the 1913 French GP in a Delage. Gaspare Bona won the Circuito di Alessandria and Antonino Caliri the Coppa Messina, both driving Bugattis in ’27.

Per-Viktor Widengren took the ‘32 Helsinki Suomen Suurajot in a Mercedes-Benz SSK and René Le Bègue the ’38 Coupe de Paris in a Talbot. Jean-Pierre Wimille won the 1947 Swiss Grands Prix in an Alfa Romeo 158 and more recently on the ‘States, AJ Foyt, Bobby Unser twice, Michael Andretti, Greg Moore, Jeff Ward, Helio Castroneves and Josef Newgarden all won in Indy racing on this day.

In sports car racing, Tazio Nuvolari won the 1932 Targa Florio driving an Alfa-Romeo 8C Monza and more recently in the US, Patrick Tambay took the 1980 Mid-Ohio Can Am in a Lola T530-Chevrolet, Derek Bell and Al Holbert’s Porsche 962 IMSA Mid-Ohio ‘86 and David Donohue and Mike Borkowski Fabcar Porsche Fontana 2003.

In the World Rally Championship, Markko Martin won the Acropolis in Greece in 2003 as Jari-Matti Latvala became the WRC’s youngest driver at 18 years old, while Sebastien Ogier powered his Volkswagen Polo to win in Sardinia ’14.

On the day that grand prix legend Giuseppe Campari and sports car racer Franz Konrad share birthdays, 1963 Le Mans 24 Hour winner Ludovico Scarfiotti became the third Grand Prix driver to die after Jim Clark and Mike Spence through 1968 in a hillclimb in the German Alps.